Awards show we are lifting our game

Posted on 2 March 2018

The increasing importance the extractives sector and other industries see in lifting Health and Safety performance is being recognised by a number of industry awards.
It's a welcome measure of how far we have come that there are now several different award events.
Getting an award is not about a personal ego-boost; it's about recognising a whole range of people in a company - and encouraging others to follow. 
If you've lifted your performance to something you and others are now proud of - be it improved health and safety, training, environmental practices, technology or innovative business performance - I'd suggest you consider entering one of these awards.
Both the inaugural Minerals Forum and the Safeguard NZ Workplace Health and Safety Awards are both taking place at the end of May.
And things are also starting to shape up for the IOQ industry awards and the Mimico Environmental Awards, which are handed out at the QuarryNZ conference in July.
Whether you are attending the forums, functions or conference - or not, you are able to submit entries. But get moving - some of the closing dates are soon.



Minerals Sector Awards

Closing date for entries is:
16 March 2018
Three categories to enter:

  • Health and Safety Initiative Award
    Awarded to the organisation responsible for implementing an innovative and effective health and safety programme in the minerals, mining, and quarrying sector.  
  • Innovation Award
    Awarded to the organisation who has positively influenced the minerals, mining and quarrying sector by contributing a new technology or initiative.
  • Environmental Management Award
    Award for the strongest overall demonstration of excellence in environmental management and preservation.

For more details visit the website


Quarry Conference Awards

Closing dates are:
30 April (Winstone Aggregates Safety Award)
31 May (other awards).
Some categories to consider entering include:

  • Winstone Aggregates Safety Award
  • Southern Cross Engineering – Roctech Innovation Award
  • Porter Equipment Quarry Leadership Award
  • Lyn Jordan Memorial Trophy for best technical paper
  • B R Webster Family Educational Scholarship
  • WorkSafe Chief Inspector Safety Leadership Award
  • Mimico Environmental Award

For more details see the IOQNZ website


Safeguard NZ Workplace Health and Safety Awards

Closing date for entries is:
4 April 2018
Some categories to consider entering include:

  • Best initiative to address a work-related safety risk
  • Best initiative to encourage worker involvement in health and safety
  • Best initiative to promote better worker health
  • Best use of innovative NZ design or technology to eliminate or manage a risk
  • Best health or safety initiative by a business of no more than 50 staff
  • Best Board level engagement in health and safety
  • Best leadership of an industry sector or region
  • Health and safety practitioner of the year
  • Health and safety representative of the year
  • Health and safety leader of the year
  • Lifetime achievement award

For more details download the entry pack